In early march, The SAFE Foundation launched a contest through Project SAFE in participating community schools. Seventh through twelfth grade students from The Yeshivah of Flatbush, Barkai, Hillel and Magen David Yeshivahs were all invited to create an ad that most powerfully and creatively conveyed a message that was discussed in their Project SAFE classes. The topics were: substance abuse and addiction, gambling, internet safety, self-esteem, body image, and healthy relationships.

By the end of April, the ads were in. Well-crafted drawings with creative slogans, creative slogans with superb, unique graphics, and creative slogans with pictures taken from the internet were all brought before a panel of judges at The SAFE Foundation. Judging was challenging; the ads displayed a lot of talent and had a ton of great messages!

At first there were supposed to be two top winners, each to receive an iPad Mini; five runners up, each to receive a $100 Amazon gift card; and five honorable mention awardees, each to receive a certificate recognizing their extra-special ads. But as the judges reviewed the submissions, they decided to make one change: Due to the great amount of great ads, the amount of honorable mention awards was extended to ten!

During the two weeks that the contest winners were announced, the blog, where the results were announced, got hundreds of views! First, each ad that received an honorable mention award was posted. Then, the runners up were declared, and finally, the middle division winner and the high school winner were announced. Each ad was then posted on The SAFE Foundation’s Facebook, Twitter, Parenting Instagram (@safeparenting) and SAFE’s other Instagram account (@thesafefoundation), and colorful posters of the winning ads were posted all around the schools.

The High School Winner: Joseph Betesh, Hillel Yeshivah, 11TH

The Middle Division Winner: Alan Kurland, Magen David Yeshivah 8TH

The Five Runners up were:

Renee Dweck, YOF 11th

Eddie Mamiye, MDY 10th

Jack Mevorah, MDY 7th

Ricky Tawil, Hillel 10th

Amy Yedid, MDY 10th

The Ten Honorable Mentions Awards went to:

Aaron Bailey, Hillel 10th

Sarah Cohen, MDY 7th

Judah Esses, MDY 11th

Mark Goldstein, Hillel, 10th

Rosa Haleva, Hillel 11th

Rona Katach, Barkai 7th

Michelle Liniado, MDY 8th

Ezra Rifkin, Hillel 10th

Isaac Smouha, MDY 8th

Norma Sutton, MDY 8th